If you sustained an injury at work, you might be able to recover benefits through the Missouri workers’ compensation system. These benefits are available in most cases regardless of who was at fault. However, there are challenges that come with the claim process.
Our experienced team of attorneys at OnderLaw can answer any of your questions about how to apply for workers’ compensation in Brentwood. The guidance of knowledgeable legal counsel can ensure you are able to maximize your financial award. At OnderLaw, we will be on and by your side every step of the way.
Most employers in Brentwood are required by law to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Companies with this coverage can file a work-related injury or illness claim. However, not every worker has access to this no-fault system of compensation.
Small employers with fewer than five employees are exempt from this requirement. There are also limitations for freelancers and independent contractors who are not technically employees.
Certain industries—such as farm, railroad, and domestic servant workers—are exempt from workers’ compensation requirements. In cases involving railroad workers, a federal system provides compensation for workplace injuries.
Our knowledgeable attorneys at OnderLaw can help you understand if you are entitled to benefits through this system. If you are, we can assist you with filing your claim and obtaining the fair payments you deserve.
There are steps that you, as an injured employee in Brentwood, must take to begin the workers’ compensation claim process.
The first step in the workers’ compensation claims process is notifying your employer that an injury occurred. This notice should be given as soon as possible. However, Missouri law requires notice to be served within 30 days of the damage or discovery of the illness.
Missouri state law does not require a specific form for workers to use when providing notice of an injury. In fact, the law does not require this notice to be made in writing at all. However, it is best to provide written notice and include specific details to protect your claim.
The 30-day period you have to notify your employer is calculated differently depending on whether you suffer from a workplace injury or from an illness related to your job. With an injury, you must notify your employer within 30 days of when the injury occurred. When it comes to a work-related illness, you have 30 days from when you have reason to believe you are suffering from an illness caused by conditions at work.
Once you notify your employer, they are required to turn the claim over to the insurance company. For you, the next step is a waiting game. Over the next month, your employer and their insurance provider must make a benefits determination. A benefits determination is the decision of whether to honor the claim or contest it.
If you have questions about how to apply for workers’ compensation in Brentwood, we have the answers. Your claim is important and deserves support from reliable legal professionals who understand state workers’ compensation laws.
If you are ready to pursue your claim, contact OnderLaw as soon as possible for a confidential consultation with one of our trusted attorneys.